Skip to content

Perfectly paleo zucchini bread

October 8, 2013
Perfect paleo zucchini bread

Perfect paleo zucchini bread

My day started out with glorious intentions and a diligent “to do” list. The list was so deep that it would have to take me the better part of a week to get done, and that is without working. Guess it is going to take me two weeks, particularly at the rate I’m going.

I did get to the bank and a few other mundane chores but the lure of all the harvested food in the fridge was just too much. The elegant and amazing smoked salmon that caveman hubby caught and smoked just beckoned to me to make my smoked salmon quiche with a winter squash crust. (The winter squash this year are taking over the yard! I have to start making a dent with them.) The quiche is in the oven right now.

Then all those fat pears on the counter that were all knocked down in a strangely fierce and wet storm for this time of year, so out came the crock pot and a pear butter is in the makings as I write. The house is filled with the fragrance of vanilla, pear and cinnamon. But I wasn’t done, the produce box (CSA) that had arrived on Saturday needed tending to, so I made a salad and put away the last of the straggling summer produce.

And nestled down in that box was a poor battered zucchini. It needed my help. It needed to be made into zucchini bread. Forget the “to do” list. This was way way more important. (Let’s not even talk about those gorgeous chanterelle mushrooms that are summoning to me in the fridge! A gift from a neighbor) So zucchini bread it is and that is in the oven too. Boy does this house smell good!

I’ve been getting really good at making paleo zucchini bread this summer. I’ve tried about 5 different recipes and have morphed them into the perfect recipe that I can’t stop making. (Even though I think this might be my last for this season given the looks of that zucchini) It is the right amount of sweet and the right amount of spice. It is wonderful. And what is more wonderful is that it is paleo. Enjoy the bounty of harvest time.

Paleo zucchini bread

Paleo zucchini bread

Cavewoman Zucchini Bread
I added some substitutions that I did to the different zucchini breads. If you really want some decadence, add ¼ cup of cocoa powder and chocolate chips and skip the spices. (Except the vanilla) Maaauh!

1.5 cups of shredded zucchini
3 tablespoons of coconut flour
½ teaspoon of baking powder
½ teaspoon of baking soda
1.5 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice
(Or 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and .5 teaspoon of nutmeg)
¼ teaspoon of ground cardamom (optional but adds a depth)
Pinch of salt
2 eggs, whisked
1/3 cup of honey
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
½ cup of almond butter
¼ cup of coconut milk
(Or you can just add ¾ cup almond butter instead of the coconut milk)
½ cup of sliced almonds or nuts of your choice

Heat up the oven to 375 degrees and shred the zucchini on a good old fashion grater. (I find this so much easier than getting out all the parts and pieces of my food processor) Place the grated zucchini in a bowl and sprinkle with the coconut flour, toss to mix, then do the same with the baking powder, soda and spices. Toss all with the zucchini till well tossed, for lack of a better description.

In a mediumish bowl mix or whisk together the eggs, almond butter, honey, vanilla and coconut milk till well mixed. While mixing, add the zucchini mixture to the wet mixture till just blended. Fold in your nuts. Pour into a well-oiled glass bread pan or a 9×9 baking pan if you want it faster. (I lined the bread pan once with parchment paper to prevent sticking. It worked pretty well.) Sprinkle some nuts on top it you wish, and bake for 25-35 minutes till done and a tooth pick comes out clean. (If using the bread dish) If the bread begins to brown too fast tent with foil and lower the heat by 25 degrees. Bake for 20-30 minute if using a 9×9. Let it cool for a bit till eating. Try not to eat it all in one sitting, okay?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    October 10, 2013 6:49 am

    I love finding baked goods that use coconut flour instead of nut flours! Thanks for this recipe (and the smoked salmon quiche sounds awesome, too).

    • ziabaki permalink*
      October 10, 2013 1:24 pm

      Oh the smoked salmon quiche was amazing. Nom nom. The zucchini bread was too… he he he 😉

  2. elise permalink
    October 24, 2013 1:59 pm

    3 tablespoons of coconut flour? that all the flour that is in this bread recipe… that seems off?

    • ziabaki permalink*
      October 24, 2013 2:05 pm

      That’s all. coconut flour is a very thirsty flour. You don;t think it is going to work out, but it does! Good luck! 😀

  3. Nessia permalink
    October 24, 2013 8:41 pm

    Yum! Mine came out super moist. So much so that I kept putting it back in the oven. It tastes great but it has this uncooked texture. Was I supposed to squeeze the liquid out of the zucchini?

    • ziabaki permalink*
      October 24, 2013 9:00 pm

      I have never squeezed my zucchini but some people have. It does have a very moist texture and sometimes that makes the baking time vary greatly. The zucchini I was using this year wasn’t that wet. If you do have super wet zucchini, try giving it a squeeze. 😀

Leave a comment